Tags

,

Tomorrow is Mother’s Day.  A good thing…mainly.  I enjoy the opportunity to pay tribute to those who have blessed my life, and the lives of my children.  It is great to get together with the family, and have a reason for a good meal and lots of laughs.  Traditionally I re-read Proverbs 31 before bed, and consider the ways those virtues are exhibited by so many around me.  The image of the capable, loyal, industrious, and learned woman continually gives me something for which to reach!  I am also grateful for those in my life who have never born a child, but have mothered me or mine.  There are so many amazing women who are mothers to those around them!

Then there is that other part of Mother’s Day.  We attend church and hear stories of impossibly perfect women (because they leave that part out of the story) .  We see quotes, and receive cards expounding the perfection and continual joy of being a mom.  UGH.  While I love my children, and  I absolutely delight in my grandchildren,  I was not, and will never be, a perfect mom.  And anyone tells me that they enjoy every minute of motherhood has dementia or is not being fully honest.  I enjoyed the journey.  Yes.  Every minute?  No, not at all.  The illness, the tantrums, the long nights, and the worry over them as they become teens and “strike out on their own” were tough.  I don’t particularly enjoy power struggles (we had more than a few), or watching them have their hearts broken.

But I LOVE being a MOM!  I love the smiles, giggles, family jokes, and opportunities to share in their lives and watch them become who they came here to be.  Teaching them of their Savior, and watching them develop the divine in themselves can’t be beat! I love the friends they bring into my home, and the chance I had to meet other wonderful moms.  And I love that God trusted me enough to send such amazing people for me to shepherd for a while.

So to all those wonderful women out there-whether you have borne children or not- Happy Mother’s Day!  Have a great day filled with laughter, love, and good food!

