Tags

, , , , , ,

The race is on to get the garden in the ground before rain falls this weekend!  (In the desert, that doesn’t happen as often as we would like!)  Last evening we planted 36 tomato plants, 9 bell peppers, and seeds for watermelon, cantaloupe, cucumber,  squash, more cabbage, and watered the existing plants.  When I went outside to get the newspaper this morning, I just grinned.  Overnight while I slept, the starts took root, more buds were created on the peas, some spinach, lettuce, and beets appeared from the soil, and my beans grew another 1/4 inch or so.

There is so much I can learn about productivity from my garden.  Plants set down roots, grow taller, and become fruitful at the same time.  Maybe that is why Adam and Eve were placed in a garden.  It is an amazing object lesson in taking advantage of every opportunity to settle, grow, and bear fruit.

Today we’ll get potatoes, sweet potatoes, hot peppers, and more corn and beans in the ground.  Once seeds are planted I can go about my life putting out the fires that appear, living each day as I need, and (with minimal intervention from us) in the next few weeks we will have peas, beets, carrots, lettuce, spinach, and strawberries to enjoy.  Then comes the corn, beans, tomatoes, melons, and everything else.  They just quietly use what they are given and turn it into food for my family.  No fanfare needed.

I need to be more like my garden….

