Tags

, , , , ,

I admit it.  I am a full-blown nerd.  I love Sherlock Holmes, BBC dramas, Jane Austen literature, math jokes, and satire on just about anything.  There are few things that get me as excited though as new, solid curriculum (unless it is sharing my curriculum find with other people.)  And I just spent a good portion of the last day or so with my new Shurley English Grammar and Composition books.  YEAH!  (My apologies to those of you who are already familiar with this resource.  I had never seen it before last week.)  I used ABEKA Grammar for my own teens and like it alright, but I am so excited about Shurley English.  (My daughter walked in as I was playing the jingles CD that comes with the kit and rolled her eyes at me.  I was just grinning.)  Why am I so excited?

20130528_100446

Shurley English is the first formal grammar program which I have found that is easily used with all three learning styles and teaches grammar through PARSING.  I was taught to parse sentences in Jr. High and find the process such fun. (Seriously.  I love it.  I’m a nerd, remember?)  This course has children parsing during their first year of grammar study through an easily memorized series of questions.   If your sentence read, “I ate chips with my lunch,”  you would parse it this way:

  1. Who ate lunch?  I did.  Subject- pronoun first person singular
  2. What did I do?  Ate. Verb- past tense.
  3. What did I eat? Chips. Direct object.
  4. When did I eat chips?  WITH my lunch.  Prepositional phrase.  With- preposition.  My- personal pronoun modifying lunch.  Lunch- object of the preposition.

…and so forth.  Using a series of understandable questions in order to identify modifiers and classify parts of speech enables the child to analyze through a logical process and learn to both read and write in a logical manner.  This program uses visual cues (for visual learners), jingles and oral questions (for auditory learners), and some rhythmic clapping (for kinesthetic learners).

I LOVE THIS!  I was taught to parse as a teen, but with out the questions or jingles.  We simply drew lots of lines and arrows, parentheses, and labeled as we went.  It was almost like learning to diagram in reverse.  And I loved it then.  This has me over the moon!

I’m such a nerd…

