Tags

, , ,

It has returned.  The attack of the weeds has begun again!  My herb garden is becoming over-run, so I have begun my nightly routine of 10-15 minutes of pulling what doesn’t belong.  (If I do any more than that at one time, my fibromyalgia flares and I am out of the game.)  Then I looked in my lawn and realized that the entire summer may be spent with a trowel and digger in hand!  Where to start?

Here is what I decided:

  • Begin with what can hurt me or the someone else.  Utah has these wonders called goat heads.  They resemble the caltrops used in the warfare to make a horse go lame, except they are small, wooden, and stick into feet about 1/8 of an inch.  OUCH!  There are also thistles with spikes, and other stickers of various shapes and sizes.  I have no mercy on any of them.
  • Move on to the vines which aren’t as much a threat to me but will choke my plants.  Bindweed looks similar to a miniature morning glory, but isn’t as pretty or as helpful.  Morning glory has large, gorgeous flowers which follow the sun and climb so that you can plant it and create your own privacy fence or trellis wall.  Lovely!  Bindweed, on the other hand, creeps along the ground, up the fences, and across everything in sight.  It sends out roots that cover the same area underground.  The only truly effective way to eradicate it is by hand-pulling it every time you see any.  AUGH!  No mercy here either.
  • Pull whatever else is there which shouldn’t be.  There are indigenous plants which pop up here and there.  One tug and out they come.  No big deal.  Just not invited into my lawn or garden.

What am I learning as I pull, tug, dig, and yank?  My life is also full of weeds.  Some aren’t necessarily dangerous; they just get in my way if I let them.  Others choke out the things I would prefer to have in my life instead.  They are the time and/or energy wasters.  I just need to be vigilant to keep them at bay or I will find everything I intended to grow and flourish is buried under something much less desirable.  Then there are those things which can really damage me or those I love.  Anger, worry, judging, selfishness, and vitriol can become so encompassing I lose sight of the beauty and grandure which surrounds me.  If I am not careful, they will steal my peace of mind, and make having a grateful heart near to impossible.  People are fallible, me included.  My garden grows as I accept them for who they are and what they have to share.  I grow as I share and accept and love.

Maybe as I weed this year, I can clear more ground than what is outside my window.

