Tags

, , ,

My peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you.  Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.                                                                                                     John 14:27

My family and I have chosen to live life a little bit differently than many around us.  We live on one income.  We homeschool.  We garden, make do, and plan for the future.  We have learned to be somewhat self-sufficient, and have learned some basic skills to help us if we ever need to take care of ourselves, and possibly those around us, for a period of time.  (We live in earthquake country.)  We are heavily involved in our religious beliefs and community.  Political causes get our time and money.  And we live with peace and purpose.

Last weekend was the state homeschool convention and curriculum fair.  I love attending, teaching, spending money for wonderful supplies from caring people, and talking to others who have chosen to teach their own.  I am not as excited by the high-pitched, frantic, and inflammatory tones from some of those I met.  Whether they are desperate to have their point of view understood, or they “have their knickers in a twist” due to one political situation or another, I am disturbed by the frenzy I saw.

Don’t get me wrong.  I am well-aware of problems in the economy, politics, and the world.  I have concerns about how well we take care of this beautiful earth given to us by the Creator.  And the latest statistics on the family are alarming!  All of these things give me pause and entice me to find ways to get involved and try to make a difference.  But what I cannot do is lose hope, or allow fear to guide my footsteps.

One woman with whom I spoke was just beginning her homeschool journey.  She had pulled her children from the public schools due to fear of the current curriculum controversy.  While I hope she and her family find this decision to be full of joy and wonderful surprises, I wish her motivations were moving her towards something, rather than away from something else.  Those who take life on from a different angle need to believe in the correctness of their course and not just the problems of the more commonly traveled road.

There is a concerned, involved, and All-powerful God in Heaven.  He is in charge.  He has made amazing promises to those who love and follow Him.  If I truly have those promises in my heart, I cannot give in to panic or fear.  If we move forward, trusting in His goodness and His timing, we have all that we need.  Including peace.

