Tags

, ,

I realize that I am behind in most aspects of my life (in a pretty massive way), but how on earth did it get to be the 19th of November without me noticing?!  I love this time of year, and our whole family works to savor each day and the feelings that come as the holidays approach.  Somehow, this year I’ve missed it.  Between the flu, my father-in-law’s death, the government shut-down, a bit of quick travel, and such, I lost focus.  I am reclaiming it.

Time to begin to savor.  I love Thanksgiving!  I love the weather this time of year.  I love the colors.  I love looking in the food room and knowing that my family is provided for as canning and case lot season comes to a close.  I absolutely love that the calendar gives me an annual reminder to count my blessings, and work on developing a grateful heart!

So here a list of the books I enjoy reading with my children and grandchildren at this time of year so that we can all focus on how blessed we are, and what the real meaning of”Turkey Day” is:

  • It’s Time for Thanksgiving by Elizabeth Hough Sechrist and Janette Woolsey
  • The Pilgrim’s First Thanksgiving by Ann McGovern
  • Thanksgiving on Plymouth Plantation my Diane Stanley
  • Samuel Eaton’s Day: A Day in the Life of a Pilgrim Boy by Kate Waters
  • Eating the plates: A Pilgrim Book of Food and Manners by Lucille Recht Penner
  • If You Sailed on the Mayflower in 1620 by Ann McGovern
  • The Landing of the Pilgrims by James Daughtery
  • Stranded at Plimoth Plantation 1626 by Gary Bowen
  • any scriptures dealing with gratitude, miracles, and a change of heart

We also sing hymns around the piano, and keep a daily list of our blessings.  The fact that Thanksgiving comes just before Christmas is a great opportunity for me to recognize how blessed I am as I begin to plan to celebrate the the birth of our King!

I hope you and yours has a blessed and happy November, and that your preparations for the coming days are filled with love, good food, and the peaceful spirit only the Lord can send.

Time to go buy a turkey.

 

 

 

 

 

